h1

UAE: A baby friendly country

April 9, 2009

Wherever I go — from malls to hotels – I am so impressed with the baby-friendly facilities in this country. I have easily found baby changing rooms, changing stations and feeding rooms in most places. Just yesterday we went to the Radisson SAS hotel in Sharjah and bingo! what do I find in the ladies toilet ­­­­– a foldable baby changing station. Very thoughtful indeed.

 

I remember a few months back when we were planning to visit the Global Village, part of the Dubai Shopping Festival, I was pretty anxious about whether I would be able to breastfeed Cuddles. He was mainly on breastmilk then and I knew it would be a long journey and would require at least one feed in between. And as the Global Village is basically spread across a large open area I had my doubts about finding a feeding room. Well, I was surprised and relieved when I found a separate spacious tent with a toilet where mothers could feed and change babies.

 

I have found baby rooms in all the malls that I have visited till now. I remember going to Ikea in Dubai Festival city when Cuddles was just two months old. Right next to the store café was a small neat baby room with a chair and a changing board. Then again I was quite impressed with the large baby room in Burjuman Centre in Bur Dubai. It was very spacious, could accommodate several mothers and had toilets inside. The Babyshop, a kiddie store with several chains, has very thoughtfully created a mothers room inside the store with a comfortable rocking chair for mothers to feed babies.

 

I don’t know how the facilities are in the west. But back home in India they are quite non-existent.

4 comments

  1. Hi,

    u r right! Malls here have quite clean and baby-friendly facilities in restrooms. u can shop for long hrs without any worries.

    I wish we had, if not on par, at least clean toilets in malls back in india.

    Sangeetha.


    • yes sangeetha, thanks to such facilities outings with a small baby are much more convenient here.


  2. Yeah, its the same case in Singapore. There are baby rooms and changing tables availble at all the malls here.
    I have seen changing tables in the Ladies restrooms in the US, but I don’t think they have separate baby rooms.
    In India, the restrooms at even big stores like Shopper’s Stop are so pathetic.


  3. I agree. UAE is quite baby friendly. In India the situation is pathetic. If you have a baby, stay stuck at home, be prepared to breastfeed in public or keep the baby on formula. It really pisses me off. I have actually breastfed the BB in the ladies room of a posh mall in Bombay, with the women coming in staring at me!



Leave a Reply

